IR 05000313/2009405

From kanterella
Jump to: navigation, search

Download: ML092300794

Text

" " August 18, 2009 Kevin Walsh, Vice President, Operations Entergy Operations, Inc. Arkansas Nuclear One 1448 S.R. 333 Russellville, AR 72802

SUBJECT: ARKANSAS NUCLEAR ONE - NRC SECURITY TEMPORARY INSTRUCTION 2201/002 INSPECTION REPORT 05000313/2009405 AND 05000368/2009405(DRS)

Dear Mr. Walsh:

On July 21, 2009, the U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) completed a temporary instruction inspection at your Arkansas Nuclear One. The inspection covered the transition from a contract security to a proprietary security force. The enclosed inspection report documents the inspection results, which were discussed on July 21, 2009, with Mr. D. Bice, Acting Manager for Licensing, and other members of your staff. The inspection examined activities conducted under your license as they relate to security and compliance with the Commission's rules and regulations and with the conditions of your license. The inspector reviewed selected procedures and records, observed activities, and interviewed personnel.

No findings of significance were identified. In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of NRC's Agency wide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS), accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room). However, because of the security-related concerns contained in the enclosure, and in accordance with 10 CFR 2.390, a copy of this letter's enclosure will not be available for public inspection. Entergy Operations, Inc. - 2 In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390(b)(1)(ii), the NRC is waiving the affidavit requirements for your response, if any. This practice will ensure that your response will not be made available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the NRC's document system, ADAMS. If safeguards information is necessary to provide an acceptable response, please provide the level of protection described in 10 CFR 73.21. Otherwise, mark your entire response, "Security-Related Information-Withhold Under 10 CFR 2.390," and follow the instructions for withholding in 10 CFR 2.390(b)(1).

Sincerely,/RA/ Michael P. Shannon, Chief Plant Support Branch - 1 Division of Reactor Safety Docket No. 50-313; 368 License No. DPR-51; NPF-6 Nonpublic

Enclosure:

Inspection Report 05000313/2009405 and 05000368/2009405(DRS)

w/Attachment:

Supplemental Information cc w/enclosure: Senior Vice President & Chief Operating Officer Entergy Operations, Inc.

P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Vice President, Oversight Entergy Operations, Inc.

P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Manager, Licensing Entergy Operations, Inc.

Arkansas Nuclear One 1448 SR 333 Russellville, AR 72802 Associate General Counsel Entergy Nuclear Operations P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Entergy Operations, Inc. - 3 Senior Manager, Nuclear Safety & Licensing Entergy Operations, Inc.

P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Entergy Operations, Inc. - 4 Distribution w/enclosure: Ronald Albert (Ronald.Albert@nrc.gov), Chief, Reactor Security Oversight Branch Shyrl Coker, (Shyrl.Coker@nrc.gov) NSIR/DSO/DDSO, TWFN Mail Stop: T-3A5M Senior Resident Inspector (Alfred.Sanchez@nrc.gov) Electronic distribution by RIV: Distribution w/o enclosure:

Regional Administrator (Elmo.Collins@nrc.gov) Deputy Regional Administrator (Chuck.Casto@nrc.gov) DRP Director (Dwight.Chamberlain@nrc.gov) DRP Deputy Director (Anton.Vegel@nrc.gov) DRS Director (Roy.Caniano@nrc.gov)

DRS Deputy Director (Troy.Pruett@nrc.gov) Senior Resident Inspector (Alfred.Sanchez@nrc.gov) Resident Inspector (Jeffrey.Josey@nrc.gov) Resident Inspector (Jeff.Rotton@nrc.gov) Branch Chief, DRP/E (Jeff.Clark@nrc.gov)

Senior Project Engineer, DRP/E (George.Replogle@nrc.gov) ANO Site Secretary (Vicki.High@nrc.gov) Public Affairs Officer (Victor.Dricks@nrc.gov) Team Leader, DRP/TSS (Chuck.Paulk@nrc.gov) RITS Coordinator (Marisa.Herrera@nrc.gov) Regional Counsel (Karla.Fuller@nrc.gov) Congressional Affairs Officer (Jenny.Weil@nrc.gov)

OEMail Resource DRS STA (Dale.Powers@nrc.gov) OEDO RIV Coordinator (Leigh.Trocine@nrc.gov) ROPreports Security Related Complete Report - OUO: SUNSI Review Completed: KSB ADAMS: Yes Initials: KSB Non-Publicly Available Sensitive-Security- Related-Periodic Review Required Letter Only:

SUNSI Review Completed: KSB ADAMS: Yes Initials: KSB Publicly Available Non-Sensitive S:DRS/REPORTS/FINAL REPORTS/ANO 2009405-nonsgi-KSB.doc PSI:PSB PSI:PEER C:PSB C:PBB C:PSB KBrooks PFrechette MShannon JClark MShannon /RA/ /RA/ /RA/ /RA/ /RA/ 7/302009 8/3/2009 8/18/2009 8/18/2009 8/18/2009 OFFICIAL RECORD COPY T=Telephone E=E-mail F=Fax