IR 05000313/2009404

From kanterella
Jump to: navigation, search

Download: ML091260790

Text

" " May 5, 2009 EA-08-249 Kevin Walsh Vice President Operations Arkansas Nuclear One Entergy Operations, Inc. 1448 S.R. 333 Russellville, AR 72802-0967

SUBJECT: ARKANSAS NUCLEAR ONE, UNITS 1 AND 2 - NRC SUPPLEMENTAL INSPECTION REPORT 05000313/2009404; 05000368/2009404

Dear Mr. Walsh:

On March 12, 2009, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) completed a supplemental inspection pursuant to Inspection Procedure 95001 at your Arkansas Nuclear One, Units 1 and 2, to follow-up on previous security inspection findings. The enclosed inspection report documents the inspection results, which were discussed at the exit meeting on March 12, 2009, with Mr. Tim Mitchell, Vice President of Operations, and other members of your staff. The NRC was informed of your readiness for the inspection on January 7, 2009. On April 30, 2009, the NRC conducted a telephonic re-exit with Mr. Dale James, Director, Nuclear Safety Assurance and other members of your staff to discuss a re-characterization of an inspection finding. The inspection examined activities conducted under your license as they relate to security and compliance with the Commission's rules and regulations and with the conditions of your license. The inspectors reviewed selected procedures and records, observed activities, and interviewed personnel. This report documents one NRC identified finding of very low security significance. The finding had a cross-cutting aspect in the area of decision making associated with conservative assumptions (H1.b). If you contest this noncited violation, you should provide a response within Entergy Operations, Inc. - 2 - EA-08-249 30 days of the date of this inspection report, with the basis for your denial, to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, ATTN.: Document Control Desk, Washington D.C. 20555-0001; with copies to the Regional Administrator Region IV; the Director, Office of Enforcement, United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, D.C. 20555-0001; and the NRC Resident Inspectors at Arkansas Nuclear One, Units 1 and 2. In addition, if you disagree with the characterization of any finding in this report, you should provide a response within 30 days of the date of this inspection report, with the basis for your disagreement, to the Regional Administrator, Region IV, and the NRC Resident Inspectors at Arkansas Nuclear One, Units 1 and 2. The information you provide will be considered in accordance with Inspection Manual Chapter 0305. In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of the NRC's document system, ADAMS.

ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Website at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-erm/adams.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room). However, because of the security-related concerns contained in the enclosure, and in accordance with 10 CFR 2.390, a copy of this letter's enclosure will not be available for public inspection. In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390(b)(1)(ii), the NRC is waiving the affidavit requirements for your response, if any. This practice will ensure that your response will not be made available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the NRC's document system, ADAMS. If Safeguards Information is necessary to provide an acceptable response, please provide the level of protection described in 10 CFR 73.21. Otherwise, mark your entire response "Security-Related Information-Withhold Under 10 CFR 2.390" and follow the instructions for withholding in 10 CFR 2.390(b)(1).

Sincerely,/RA/

Roy J. Caniano, Director Division of Reactor Safety Docket: 50-313; 50-368 License: DPR-51; NPF-6 Nonpublic

Enclosure:

Inspection Report 05000313/2009404; 05000368/2009404

w/Attachment:

Supplemental Information Entergy Operations, Inc. - 3 - EA-08-249 cc w/enclosure: David E. Maxwell, Director Arkansas Department of Emergency Management Bldg. 9501 Camp Joseph T. Robinson North Little Rock, AR 72199 cc w/o enclosure: Senior Vice President Entergy Operations, Inc. P. O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Senior Vice President

& Chief Operating Officer Entergy Operations, Inc. P. O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Vice President, Oversight Entergy Operations, Inc P. O. Box 3199 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Manager, Licensing Entergy Operations, Inc Arkansas Nuclear On 1448 SR 33 Russellville, AR 72802 Associate General Counsel Entergy Nuclear Operation P. O. Box 3199 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Senior Manager, Nuclear Safety & Licensing Entergy Operations, Inc P. O. Box 3199 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Entergy Operations, Inc. - 4 - EA-08-249 Distribution w/enclosure: Ronald Albert (Ronald.Albert@nrc.gov), Chief, Reactor Security Oversight Branch Deani Riffle, (Deani.Riffle@nrc.gov) NSIR/DSO/DDSO, TWFN Mail Stop: T4 F25M Senior Resident Inspector (Alfred.Sanchez@nrc.gov) Electronic distribution by RIV: Distribution w/o enclosure: Regional Administrator (Elmo.Collins@nrc.gov) Deputy Regional Administrator (Chuck.Casto@nrc.gov) DRP Director (Dwight.Chamberlain@nrc.gov) DRP Deputy Director (Anton.Vegel@nrc.gov) DRS Director (Roy.Caniano@nrc.gov) DRS Deputy Director (Troy.Pruett@nrc.gov) Resident Inspector (Jeffrey.Josey@nrc.gov) Branch Chief, DRP/E (Jeff.Clark@nrc.gov) Senior Project Engineer, DRP/E (George.Replogle@nrc.gov) ANO Site Secretary (Vicki.High@nrc.gov) Team Leader, DRP/TSS (Chuck.Paulk@nrc.gov) RITS Coordinator (Marisa.Herrera@nrc.gov) K. S. Fuller (Karla.Fuller@nrc.gov) R4ALLEGATION Resource (R4ALLEGATION.Resource@nrc.gov) M. S. Haire, RC/ACES (Mark Haire@nrc.gov) C. A. Carpenter, D:OE (Cynthia.Carpenter@nrc.gov) OE:EA File (RidsOeMailCenter.Resource@nrc.gov) RidsNsirDso@nrc.gov DRS STA (Dale.Powers@nrc.gov)

OEDO RIV Coordinator (John.Adams@nrc.gov) ROPreports Security Related Complete Report - OUO: SUNSI Rev Compl. x Yes No ADAMS x Yes No Reviewer Initials KSB Publicly Avail Yes x No Sensitive x Yes No Sens. Type Initials KSB Letter Only: SUNSI Rev Compl. x Yes No ADAMS x Yes No Reviewer Initials KSB Publicly Avail x Yes No Sensitive Yes x No Sens. Type Initials KSB PSI:PSB1 PSI:PSB1 C:PSB1 ACES C:PBE C:PSB1 D:DRS KBrooks/dch JLarsen MPShannonMHaire JClark MPShannon RJCaniano/RA/ /RA/ /RA/ /RA/ /RA/ /RA/ /RA/ 4/7/09 4/7/09 4/7/09 4/8/09 4/10/09 5/4/09 5/5/09 OFFICIAL RECORD COPY T=Telephone E=E-mail F=Fax