IR 05000313/2009403

From kanterella
Jump to: navigation, search
Arkansas Nuclear One - NRC Security Inspection Report 05000313-09-403 and 05000368-09-403
ML093430503
Person / Time
Site: Arkansas Nuclear Entergy icon.png
Issue date: 12/09/2009
From: Shannon M P
NRC/RGN-IV/DRS/PSB-1
To: Walsh K
Entergy Operations
References
Download: ML093430503 (5)


Text

" " December 9, 2009

Kevin Walsh, Vice President, Operations Entergy Operations, Inc. Arkansas Nuclear One 1448 S.R. 333 Russellville, AR 72802

SUBJECT: ARKANSAS NUCLEAR ONE - NRC SECURITY INSPECTION REPORT 05000313/2009403 AND 05000368/2009403

Dear Mr. Walsh:

On October 29, 2009, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) completed a security baseline inspection at your Arkansas Nuclear One, Units 1 and 2. The inspection covered one or more of the key attributes of the security cornerstone of the NRC's Reactor Oversight Process. The enclosed inspection report documents the inspection results, which were discussed on October 29, 2009, with Mr. D. Brice, Acting Manager, Licensing, and other members of your staff.

The inspection examined activities conducted under your license as they relate to security and compliance with the Commission's rules and regulations and with the conditions of your license. The inspectors reviewed selected procedures and records, observed activities, and interviewed personnel.

There were no findings of significance identified.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of the NRC's document system, ADAMS.

ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Website at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room). However, because of the security-related concerns contained in the enclosure, and in accordance with 10 CFR 2.390, a copy of this letter's enclosure will not be available for public inspection. Entergy Operations, Inc. - 2 - In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390(b)(1)(ii), the NRC is waiving the affidavit requirements for your response, if any. This practice will ensure that your response will not be made available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the NRC's document system, ADAMS. If Safeguards Information is necessary to provide an acceptable response, please provide the level of protection described in 10 CFR 73.21. Otherwise, mark your entire response "Security-Related Information-Withhold Under 10 CFR 2.390" and follow the instructions for withholding in 10 CFR 2.390(b)(1).

Sincerely,/RA/

Michael P. Shannon, Chief Plant Support Branch-1 Division of Reactor Safety Docket Nos.: 50-313, 50-368 License Nos.: DPR-51, NPF-6

Nonpublic

Enclosure:

NRC Inspection Report 05000313/2009403 and 05000368/2009403

w/Attachment:

Supplemental Information cc w/o enclosure: Associate General Counsel Entergy Nuclear Operations P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995

Senior Manager, Nuclear Safety & Licensing Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995

Senior Vice President & Chief Operating Officer Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Entergy Operations, Inc. - 3 - Vice President, Oversight Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Entergy Operations, Inc. - 4 - Distribution w/enclosure: Ronald Albert (Ronald.Albert@nrc.gov), Chief, Reactor Security Oversight Branch Shyrl Coker, (Shyrl.Coker@nrc.gov) NSIR/DSO/DDSO, TWFN Mail Stop: T-3A5M Senior Resident Inspector (Alfred.Sanchez@nrc.gov)

Electronic distribution by RIV: Distribution w/o enclosure: Regional Administrator (Elmo.Collins@nrc.gov) Deputy Regional Administrator (Chuck.Casto@nrc.gov) DRP Director (Dwight.Chamberlain@nrc.gov)

DRP Deputy Director (Anton.Vegel@nrc.gov) DRS Director (Roy.Caniano@nrc.gov) DRS Deputy Director (Troy.Pruett@nrc.gov) Senior Resident Inspector (Alfred.Sanchez@nrc.gov) Resident Inspector (Jeffrey.Josey@nrc.gov)

Resident Inspector (Jeff.Rotton@nrc.gov) Branch Chief, DRP/E (Jeff.Clark@nrc.gov) Senior Project Engineer, DRP/E (Ray.Azua@nrc.gov) ANO Administrative Assistant (Vicki.High@nrc.gov) Public Affairs Officer (Victor.Dricks@nrc.gov) Branch Chief, DRS/TSB (Michael.Hay@nrc.gov) RITS Coordinator (Marisa.Herrera@nrc.gov)

Regional Counsel (Karla.Fuller@nrc.gov) Congressional Affairs Officer (Jenny.Weil@nrc.gov) OEMail Resource ROPreports DRS STA (Dale.Powers@nrc.gov)

OEDO RIV Coordinator (Leigh.Trocine@nrc.gov)

Security Related Complete Report - OUO: ADAMS: No x Yes SUNSI Review Complete Reviewer Initials: JLB Publicly Available Non-Sensitive Category A. x Non-publicly Available x Sensitive KEYWORD: MD 3.4 Non-Public A.

SPSI/PSB-1 PSI/PSB-1 C:PSB-1 C:PBE C:PSB-1 JLBuchanan ETByre MPShannon JAClark MPShannon

/RA/ /RA//RA//RA//RA/ 11/13/09 12/9/09 12/9/09 12/9/09 12/9/09 OFFICIAL RECORD COPY T=Telephone E=E-mail F=Fax Entergy Operations, Inc. - 5 - Letter Only: ADAMS: No x Yes x SUNSI Review Complete Reviewer Initials: JLB x Publicly Available x Non-Sensitive Category A. Non-publicly Available Sensitive KEYWORD: SUNSI Review Complete OFFICIAL RECORD COPY T=Telephone E=E-mail F=Fax